Multiple Queries

Little Rose

Registered
Reaction score
is is okay to send a query for my fiction novel to multiple agents within the same agency? in fact, is it okay to send multiple queries at all for this kind of work?

and while i'm asking questions (this is my first time doing all this) what size envelope do i send the query in? just your regular 4 1/8 x 9 1/2, or should i use a larger minila one?

scfirenice

professional multitasker
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an agent but my extensive research indicates you should not query multiple agents in the same agency, you can send it to multiple agencies though. Research which agents within the agency represent similar stuff to yours and go for the one closest to what you need. Once one agent from that agency declines your work, you will not likely find one that will take it. Also use a #10 envelope to mail your query, it is ok to fold in thirds, make sure you enclose a number 10 SASE inside. folded sticky side away so it won't seal itself.
Good luck

brinkett

Elder Scrolls devotee
Registered
Reaction score
I think it's okay to query different agents at the same agency. Just don't query them at the same time.

Andrew Zack

Banned
Reaction score
Website
www.zackcompany.com
I would not recommend querying multiple agents at the same agency. Query one at a time.

I have posted extensively on here how to put together a query submission, but probably the easiest thing to do is go to my website and read the guidelines there.

Andy

Little Rose

Registered
Reaction score
thanks everyone. i worked for a while and came up with this query. any critiques?

Dear (agent's name):