PDA

View Full Version : Agents "checking up on writers"

android415
07-07-2010, 04:14 AM
I'm a newbie here, so I'm not entirely sure how this works.

I've read a few posts here, insinuating that what you do here is not private, and could turn off potential agents and publishers. That makes sense.

But, how does that work, exactly? What sorts of things turn agents/publishers off? Downright nastiness?

And how are they aware of your identity?

Sorry for the newbie questions, if this is better posted in the newbie forum, please inform me, but I thought, topic wise, it was better for this forum.

suki
07-07-2010, 04:22 AM
I'm a newbie here, so I'm not entirely sure how this works.

I've read a few posts here, insinuating that what you do here is not private, and could turn off potential agents and publishers. That makes sense.

But, how does that work, exactly? What sorts of things turn agents/publishers off? Downright nastiness?

And how are they aware of your identity?

Sorry for the newbie questions, if this is better posted in the newbie forum, please inform me, but I thought, topic wise, it was better for this forum.

Anything you do online that can make you look difficult to work with or overly negative, or like you are unstable or have unreasonable expectations can turn off potential agents. Even extreme political or religious views could turn off an agent. That's not to say don't be yourself or express yourself - it's just worth being aware of the fact that agents can see what you post online and will draw conclusions based on those posts.

As for anonymity here, only you know how easy it would be for the agent to link you AW screen name with your real identity (do you link your blog in your signature? make your contact email public? make posts including your book title in a thread that will show up in a google search? use the same screen name or a very personalized signature on multiple sites? post in the agent's thread in B&BC? etc...)