PDA

View Full Version : A dumb question

EricK
07-05-2010, 10:32 PM
This is probably a dumb question but I am new to writing. If I have sent a novel to a publisher who takes unsolicited manuscripts (TOR, ACE, PYR, ETC.) is it okay to shop around for an agent or should I wait until I hear back from the publisher?

stormie
07-05-2010, 10:44 PM
Wait until you hear back from the publisher. If it's a contract, then you can contact an agent of choice, telling them you have a publisher who's interested in the ms. If it's a "no" from the publisher, then query either all publishers or all agents. Not both. Agents will want to know if the ms. has been shopped around.

KTC
07-05-2010, 10:52 PM
I would say query agents TOO. Unless you offered the publisher an exclusive.

Ryan_Sullivan
07-05-2010, 11:43 PM
In all likelihood, you won't hear back from the publisher for a long time--maybe a year. Go ahead and query. (I'd recommend starting with agents in the future, since publishers take so much longer, and if you got a deal, it's nice to have an agent.)

Danthia
07-06-2010, 01:11 AM
Query agents, too. Publishers can take ages, and you'll want an agent in the end anyway. Might as well start now.

However, I'd recommend focusing on agents and not sending to any more publishers. If the book is good enough to publish, an agent will get you a far better deal than you can on your own, and protect your rights, both literally and figuratively. An agent also opens more doors for you.

Ryan_Sullivan
07-06-2010, 02:37 AM
Not to mention that if I were doing this without an agent right now, I'd probably go crazy. I wouldn't recommend going into this business without one unless you really know what you're in for.

stormie
07-06-2010, 07:10 PM
As I said, if an agent chooses to rep you, they will want to know if the ms. has been shopped around. Even if it was to one publisher.

shaldna
07-06-2010, 10:06 PM
query agents too.

EricK
07-22-2010, 09:52 AM
Thanks everyone

Ineti
07-22-2010, 09:56 AM