progressing as a writer

sailor

still new
Registered
Reaction score
I have been writing short stories for approx 5 years now. I was encouraged by a wonderful lady who was my muse, proofreader, harshest critique and most avid supporter. When she passed away, I stopped writing for awhile but picked it up again. What I hear from her is her mantra echoing in my mind 'more description'. My short stories have grown from a start of 1.5k to easily 4,5,6k or more. She still inspires me to strive for more, to improve. I've sold some to an adult website that prefers 2-3k but they do take mine even though they may be longer.

It seems now that I am writing two kinds of erotica. One for the site with what I know they want in the way of length and explicitness. And others for myself with the hope of selling them elsewhere. I finish a story of one type and then switch to the other.

Just wondering if it's better to stick with one style so that I can progress faster or to just keep plugging away as I am now.

Synonym

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not sure sailor. Are you happy with both styles? One is making you a little money, which is nice. The one you write for yourself may be where you can stretch and improve, in my opinion.

Pretend you write instruction manuals as your 'day' job and at night become a horror writer extraordinaire. Is this so very different?

sailor

still new
Registered
Reaction score
The styles are not that different, at least I don't think so. As you said, one makes a little money, hopefully the other will too. What I am trying to do is develop the story and characters to a greater depth. The ultimate goal is to pen the great Canadian erotic novel. I thinking that I will carry on with both. The one thing I don't want is to write the short and naughty one, sell it, then say to myself 'Crap, that's the one that could'a been a contender.'

Synonym

Registered
Reaction score