PDA

View Full Version : Anything?

MindFreak
09-02-2005, 02:37 AM
I'm writing a screenplay and it starts with a man at a white collar, office job. Unfortunately I have had no experience with such jobs so I don't exactly know how to write for this situation. I dont know what information anyone could give but anything would do.

Fern
09-02-2005, 03:33 AM
Just decide whether he is an attorney, CPA, business owner, banker, administrator of nursing home or some other facilty,etc. then try googling for a job description for the specific job you have him doing. Add in 2 hour lunches, send him to work about 9 a.m. (maybe 8. . .depending on job.)

sassandgroove
09-02-2005, 09:58 PM
I have a question. Does he half to be white collar? Why not write in a guy who is employed in something you do know about? If it important to the plot, Office Space is a good movie.

Saanen
09-02-2005, 11:13 PM
What kind of office job? That is, does he hold a position of any authority, or is he just a data entry guy or something? There's a world of difference.

The lower you are on the office job ladder, the more boring your day will be, even when you're busy.

Ebelie
09-03-2005, 12:54 PM
I think specifying the job would help a lot in coming up with the details you're looking for. In "Office Space" the workers are Software Engineers, which is my boyfriend's occupation, and he found the movie hilarious. If you're looking for a very bland occupation you could try making him a claims officer in an insurance company. I did that for a year and I found myself experiencing all the "white collar inner-city office worker" cliches.

You could also try checking out the comic strip "Dilbert" for inspiration.

MindFreak
09-03-2005, 09:00 PM