Illustrator wanted to collaborate

wqw

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, all,

I need some ink drawings for a manuscript I've written. I do not have an agent or publisher, so there are no guarantees and no $ offered. It would be strictly collaborative.

It's a fairly sophisticated young adult story, and I'm looking for someone who can do ink drawings, little or no color, with a medieval look, and some wit, like A.A. Milne's Once On A Time, but not Winnie the Pooh. (Hint: A realistic castle wall with portcullis will be relevant, as well as characters and crowds.)

If you are an illustrator, or can kindly pass this along to one you know, here's how I would like to handle this so there are no misunderstandings, hurt feelings, or lawsuits
smile.gif

1. Please send sample images, or web links, to my email address below. (*Disclaimer* I am just a writer looking for drawings. I can't be responsible for anything that happens to your artwork, so while I promise here not to use anything you send in any way that we don't agree upon, don't send anything you're worried about someone copying. Also, needless to say but I'll say it, anything unrelated and ANY advertising will get the sender put on my spam list.)

2. If I don't think your illustrations are a fit, I will send you a polite reply letting you know. You are more than welcome to follow up with a different style, but at some point please take a hint.
smile.gif

3. If I think there's potential, I will ask for some rough sketches based on my specific need for this story. If there is promise, I will send you the story so you can give me your thoughts and further sketches.

4. If things seem to work for us both, we agree to whatever is the industry standard for rights and percentages for an author and illustrator, before we complete the project. This may take getting outside advice. Let's agree to what's best for us both.