Help - hitting a wall

Status
Not open for further replies.

fedorable1

Hopeless Romantic
Registered
Reaction score
I'm by no means an expert, but I do have a few comments.

First of all, the query seems fine. You may want to stress a little more the fact that the book is about survival and overcoming hardship than the actual abuse.

On a similar note, having the word "Abuse" in the title may have been a shot in the foot as far as why people have apparently perceived it as you described. Calling it something like Ellie sounds much more approachable and brings the focus to the character, not the abuse. Even something like Ellie: A Story of Survival may have been wiser. I mean, to say it's a "Story of Profound Loss and Abuse" just seems too depressing to read, in my opinion.

But anyway, don't give up. Maybe there's some untapped market out there you just need to keep pining for. I wish you luck. :Thumbs:

Rose colored glasses

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks for the input. That was not my original title choice. The acquisitions editor stuck me with it. I did have some concern that it would hinder me.

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm sorry, Rose colored glasses, but I would agree with fedorable1 as well. My first thought when I read the title? "Ugh!"

Have you considered sending a few copies to regional newspapers? Specifically, to newspaper writers who cover human interest stories. Also, could you market the book at conventions or seminars for social workers and that type of thing?

ac

Lauri B

I Heart Mac
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Rose,