PDA

View Full Version : legal question???

amlptj
06-23-2010, 08:50 PM
hi i was wondering... ok say if a person holds someone captive but they were forced to hold that person captive by others, could that person legally be guilty for holding that person captive considering they were forced to do so???

Maryn
06-23-2010, 09:17 PM
I'm not a lawyer.

Instinct and common sense says that if Alvin holds a gun to my child's head and says he'll shoot unless I hold Jerry captive, no jury in the world is likely to find me guilty. That would be true even if I only thought Alvin had a gun to my child's head, while my child was safe and sound.

It'll be interesting to see what the lawyers here have to say.

Maryn, who'll keep you company until they arrive

PeterL
06-23-2010, 09:28 PM
I don't believe that someone can be held legally responsible for acts done while that person was under duress. Duress certainly voids signatures, but I don't know how it is handled for other actions.

Lhun
06-23-2010, 10:07 PM
Instinct and common sense says that if Alvin holds a gun to my child's head and says he'll shoot unless I hold Jerry captive, no jury in the world is likely to find me guilty.Of course, not all places in the world use juries. ;)

Anyway, as long as whatever is used to threaten someone is worse than what they're forced to do, they should have adequate chances of not being held responsible for it. The closer the two the more difficult it would be of course. Since kidnapping (or even "just" unlawful imprisonment) is a pretty serious crime, that'd better be a hell of threat. Harming a person because someone kidnapped your dog is not likely to fly in court. Though probably more likely if it's somewhere with common law trials.

amlptj
06-24-2010, 05:20 PM