PDA

View Full Version : general question about beta reading/expectations

divy
06-12-2010, 07:32 AM
i'm fairly new to the beta/crit thing, and i have a question (i didn't want to post this in the beta forum, since it's mostly for requests, and this is more of a discussion topic)

when someone offers/asks to be a beta reader, and you send off chapters, do you expect to hear back from them one way or another? i mean, i've send off a few chapters to people who have asked (asked independent of any request from me, ftr) and i find myself wondering what's up if i don't hear anything back after several weeks. not even acknowledgment that it was received.

i have no illusions that i'm entitled to any crit, even if someone asks me if they can read my work. but the complete lack of response, i have to admit, is a little disconcerting.

if someone starts to read my work and they don't like it, i have no problem with them telling me so (in fact, it would be good to know, because if i have ten people who all can't make it through the first five chapters, that's a problem i should deal with, right?). if someone hasn't responded at all after several weeks, would you ever email them to check, or would you just let it go?

of course, people get busy, and that's understandable. but my (active) betas, when they get busy, let me know that they're busy, and that's comforting, you know? and if i get hung up when beta-ing for someone else, i'll let them know, so they're not left wondering.

is there any sort of beta etiquette regarding this kind of thing? am i expecting too much?

Chris P
06-12-2010, 07:56 AM