Hot topic: When to do Pro Bono Work?

edalpini

Registered
Reaction score
Hello!

I'm a fairly new writer doing some pro bono work, but have read some conflicting viewpoints on whether or not it's a good idea. What are your thoughts on doing freelance pro bono work: When should you do it--if at all--and why?

Namatu

Lost in mental space.
Registered
Reaction score
Are you talking editing or writing services? For friends, random passersby, or professionals?

edalpini

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks for the clarifying question. I'm talking writing services in general--for friends, professionals, etc. When is legit to do pro bono work? It seems you're suggesting the client matters?

Namatu

Lost in mental space.
Registered
Reaction score
For me, it really depends on the work. I beta for some people. This includes spelling, punctuation, and constructive feedback on story, characterization, pacing, etc. But I don't do it often because it's a lot of work. This is my "pro bono" work. I also freelance editing services professionally. Both happen when the opportunity presents and I'm interested and available.

As far as writing, if I'm not writing for myself, then I should be getting paid.

You have to figure out where to set your boundaries. If you're looking to get experience, then giving it away for free can help, but consider how difficult it will become later when you want to start charging that client/business for work you've previously done out of the kindness of your heart. Have an arrangement in place. "I'll edit a sample chapter for you, and if you like what you see, we can discuss rates."