Head trauma

Michael_T

Physicist posing as a novelist
Registered
Reaction score
I have a character that needs to be unable to convey some information for a couple days. She does find herself in the middle of a fight and I was wondering if it would be at all likely that she could get hit in the head and go into a 3 day coma or something related. Or just loose some memory about the information she had gathered the day before?

Or would anybody have another suggestion as to how she would be unable to communicate (written or verbal) for 3 days?

I've found a lot of information about comas but not much on how likely it is to get into a short-term one...

Your help is greatly appreciated.

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I can't really answer your question (I'm not a medical expert), but I'll add one comment. A character going into a coma is such an old stick that I would try to use something else.

A serious injury might required that the character be given such drugs in the hospital that she'd be knocked out for three days.

Or, you could have the bad guys lock her up somewhere (say, tied up in an old warehouse) and it takes three days for her to escape or for someone to find her.

Michael_T

Physicist posing as a novelist
Registered
Reaction score
I can't really answer your question (I'm not a medical expert), but I'll add one comment. A character going into a coma is such an old stick that I would try to use something else.

A serious injury might required that the character be given such drugs in the hospital that she'd be knocked out for three days.

Or, you could have the bad guys lock her up somewhere (say, tied up in an old warehouse) and it takes three days for her to escape or for someone to find her.

Yes good point about the coma. If I were to go that route I would at least stay away form that word.