New here

pacey1800

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,
My name is Chris, and I'm an aspiring writer, who has tried all kinds of writing over the years, from screenplays to short stories. However, I've also tried poetry as well. I'm kinda new to poetry even though I've done it before, but I've never really stuck with it, and never really had a chance to focus on it, because I've been so busy attempting to write in other forms. I've been writing some poems that I posted on fictionpress.com about the Olympics, and I've tried submitting them to some publications that take previously published poetry.

I do have some questions though since I'm a newbie, and while I'd like to learn about the various forms of poetry, I admit that I hardly ever read poetry, usually because I admit that most of the time I'm not quite sure what's being said or implied. What I'd like to know is this, and forgive me if this sounds silly, but is it necessary for one to read poetry every day, or to have a favorite poet or poets, in order for one to become a good poet? Is it necessary to try to analyze what is being said or implied in a particular given poem, to look at it just critically? I admit that I don't have a particular favorite poet, I know that I am probably going to be studying poetry in college soon, but is it essential to have a knowledge of particular authors or the overall history of poetry to be a good writer of poetry? Forgive me if this sounds odd, but I'm just curious. I'd love to know what you think. Thanks.

dclary

Unabashed Mercenary
Poetry Book Collaborator
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.trumpstump2016.com
If you want to learn *anything* that isn't kinetic, you have to read. Why would poetry be any different?

You don't need to read it every day. But how would you know what's been done, unless you've already seen it? How would know what can be achieved, until you see what has already been?