FAQ

Status
Not open for further replies.

batyler65

I'm starting this thread in the hopes that we can collect the wisdom of this board in one place and help newcomers find what they are looking for without reading everything or a lot of duplicate posting.

Please feel free to add to the collective wisdom. In other words, HEEEEELLLLLLPPPPP!

Barb

batyler65

How should I send clips?

When sending clips you can do one of two things:

Make a good quality photo copy of the item. On the clip make a note of the date and publication in which it appeared.
Just be sure that the copy is clear and easy to read.

OR

Send a tearsheet from the actual publication with the same note.

No special packaging is required (Unless noted in the writer's guidelines). Send two or three of your best, most relevant clips in the appropriate sized envelope with your query.

eraser

I'm new to freelancing. What should I do first?

1- Buy a copy of latest edition of Writer's Market. Going to the library to skim it won't do. You'll need to STUDY it; which means taking it with you to the bathroom, beside your plate while eating dinner and propped on your belly at bedtime. (You'll eventually want to subscribe to their online version too.)

2- Polish your piece of writing. Don't assume God made editors to fix typos and grammatical errors. The quickest way to announce to a prospective buyer "I am NOT worthy" is to send in sloppy work.

3- When your work shines, re-visit WM and narrow down the best possible markets for it. You can try shooting for the moon from the get-go ie: sending it to the New Yorker, Reader's Digest or the Atlantic Monthly, but I don't recommed it. When you're brand, spanking new, you want clips (which you'll learn about in WM), your name in print and a bit of money. So I advise starting small; local papers, regional magazines etc. Your chances are much better of a first sale with them. When you want to get to the roof, you don't start on the last rung of the ladder.