PDA

View Full Version : Quarterstaff vs. Sword?

TheIT
08-23-2005, 11:59 PM
In a fight between someone armed with a quarterstaff and someone armed with a sword, who would you bet your money on? Assume both combatants are equally matched physically.

In my fantasy WIP, my mage fights with a quarterstaff (whenever he allows an opponent close enough to affect him). Unlike Gandalf, my mage would probably chop off his own foot if he picked up a sword. I'm looking for what the capabilities of a quarterstaff would be. I know travellers in the Middle Ages relied on quarterstaffs to defend themselves from bandits. How good are they against swords? Would a swordsman look at someone with a quarterstaff and laugh ("Ha, ha, all you've got is a stick."), or would a swordsman stay away?

Also, what type of wood is used to make a good quarterstaff? Would maple work?

Thanks!

Vomaxx
08-24-2005, 12:57 AM
I have no experience with hand-to-hand medieval fighting. But I would just observe that, as far as I know, everyone who could afford a sword had one, and long sticks were not very often used in combat by anybody who could get his hands on a sword. I infer from this that a trained swordsman would normally defeat a trained quarterstaff fighter. (Othwise we might be reading about Excalibur, the famous stick in the stone, or Durandal, Roland's mighty stick...) I know of no battles where units of quarterstaffmen appeared, unless it was a case of poor peasants who could get nothing else.

Of course, if you can put a point on the stick and an axeblade on one side, you have a halberd, a very effective weapon indeed. I would bet on a good halberdier rather than a good swordsman.

It will be interesting to see other views on this topic.

Richard
08-24-2005, 01:01 AM