Working for Publisher

brainstrains

4-8-8-4
Registered
Reaction score
Hi, there...
Ok I have another question. I work in marketing for a major non-fiction publisher. I only write fiction. I am wondering whether potential agents see that as a plus or a minus?

I'm concerned there may be some politics involved. What if agents are just humoring me because they don't want to upset the relationship they have with the publisher, or being nice because they think I can get them a better "in" with the publisher?

Wondering whether I should leave that off my query letter in the future. I don't really have many other credentials to speak of though, except my knowledge of the publishing/marketing process. Anyone have any views?

Thanks!

The Numinous One

Registered
Reaction score
I also work for a large non-fiction publisher, and I write fiction. I don't list my job on my queries because, IMO, it means nothing to the agents if I say I know more about the ins and outs of the business than the next writer. As far as I'm concerned, if my query isn't good and they aren't interested, then the next writer is exactly who they'll look at. I don't want them to know I work in publishing because I want them to focus on my pitch, and not wonder if I'm mentioning my job because I think it makes me more entitled to be published than anyone else (I'm not!).

Also, I sent out my query with only one professional publishing credit listed - for a 499-word flash fiction story. Despite my lack of experience, to date I've received requests for chapters from half the agents I've queried, and two have gone on to request full manuscripts. Not bad for a first novel - I'd expected flat-out rejections.