Envy? Competition? Same region/genre?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MichelD

Registered
Reaction score
I had a kick in the guts yesterday.

I am usually a very happy content person, but this really bothers me.

I am a working journalist in a particular trade. Let's call it ranching.

I wrote a mystery/adventure novel based in the industry some years ago, but never really made a serious effort to get published.

Yesterday a very good old pal who is also a former ranch hand informed me that his very first novel, a murder mystery set on regional ranch land is to be published this autumn.

I've been meaning to get back into that genre as this trade journalism is getting old. But I've learned a lot and have a very good background for setting and characters, etc.

The trouble is that I live in a particular region and I am worried that if I come up with a similar character in a similar region (ie. a ranch hand becomes an amateur sleuth in this region) that I am stealing the idea from my friend.

I guess it's okay if you are talking about a police procedural in a big city, but picking a niche in the mystery genre and being the only one in that niche are a big plus for getting published.

So have I lost the horse out of the barn and can't catch it now?

Sophia

Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Your reaction is understandable. It might help to think of the positives in your situation, and there are many. First, you know now that there is a market for this type of book. Readers who like your friend's book may well look for more like it, and that's a big plus, much bigger than being the only one writing in a certain niche. You could also think of it (and talk to your friend about it) as his determination and hard work having inspired you to give your dream another chance.