Procrastinators - do you think a contract with a publisher would cure you?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lucyvp

Registered
Reaction score
Those who are published, does the knowledge that your WIP will most likely be published make it easier to keep working on it?

Nivarion

Brony level >9000
Registered
Reaction score
If there is money on the line, I've got all the time in the world. :D

CAWriter

Registered
Reaction score
A contract makes a difference for me because there's an actual deadline attached. I'm not good at writing 'on spec' or just for the fun of it, but if I know someone is actually waiting for what I'm producing, I'm good at meeting those expectations.

lucyvp

Registered
Reaction score
Kind of like having a uni assignment due - I always knuckled down at the last minute to do them. Do you think there's really a cure for procrastination?

Paul

Banned
Reaction score
It makes a difference for me. Deadlines are the only way I can work, long as there's a little give.

Course, you need to develop the habit of writing before that day happens, no point saying 'i've no contract, so no point'

shaldna

The cake is a lie. But still cake.
Registered
Reaction score
I think it could, but for some people it won't make any difference at all.

kuwisdelu

Revolutionize the World
Registered
Reaction score
I thought one needed a deadline before procrastination was possible in the first place.

Oops.

Namatu

Lost in mental space.
Registered
Reaction score
Oh no, I can procrastinate with or without a deadline.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
Those who are published, does the knowledge that your WIP will most likely be published make it easier to keep working on it?

This is like asking does the knoweldge that you'll be fired from your day job if you don't show up for work make it easier to keep working.

The knowledge that I've already taken part of the money, and won't get the rest, makes it a heck of a lot easier to keep working.