I've won a cruise

Fran

Slate grey mole person
Registered
Reaction score
All I have to do is phone a premium rate number, give them my name, address and date of birth, and provide my credit card details so they can deduct a "small admin charge".

Gah. How do these people get away with this? I know people must fall for this stuff or they wouldn't bother but it's still infuriating. It was a recorded message or I would have asked the person calling for their name, address, date of birth and credit card details. They always hang up pretty quickly when I do that.

And quite apart from anything else, cruise ships are little more than floating prisons, and not my idea of a good time. ;)

Gretad08

Registered
Reaction score
I work in a bank and you would not believe the fraud people fall for. It's very disheartening b/c it's often the elderly who fall for things like "Here's your check containing the winnings from a Canadian lottery." The first thing I say is "Did you play the Canadian lottery?" That usually helps them understand what's going on.

backslashbaby

~~~~*~~~~
Registered
Reaction score
I've gotten two emails in the past month advising me what to do because my accounts are about to be closed. Pisses me off! I know tons of people fall for these; they look really real :(

I updated my info with a school I went to, and they posted my email as my contact email. Just out there on the web, by my real name. I can't decide which pisses me off more, frankly!

Jcomp

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score