PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever taken any creative writing courses?

Christyp
04-07-2010, 04:37 PM
I was active in all the writing classes in high school, but it's been a few years (no, I won't say how many) since I graduated. I signed up for a creative writing workshop this Saturday, and I'm curious as to what to expect. Is this going to be a waste of money?

shaldna
04-07-2010, 05:13 PM
It depends alot on the quality of the course, the people who attend and the level of feedback etc.

Some courses are better than others.

LOG
04-07-2010, 05:23 PM
In college, such courses seem to focus more on the form of the types of creative writing, poetry, short stories, drama, etc.

The best way to learn how to write is to just do it and then get repeatedly critiqued.

CaroGirl
04-07-2010, 05:27 PM
Depending on the other attendees, a writing course can be a good way to meet like-minded people and start a writers' group. This is the way I met most of the members of my group and we've been meeting for about 5 years now (maybe longer; time's weird).

ishtar'sgate
04-07-2010, 08:33 PM
I was active in all the writing classes in high school, but it's been a few years (no, I won't say how many) since I graduated. I signed up for a creative writing workshop this Saturday, and I'm curious as to what to expect. Is this going to be a waste of money?
A lot depends on the facilitator. Overall I have to say none of the courses I took were a waste of money. I learned something from all of them. Two stand out in my mind. The first one was taught by a published novelist and the second was taught by an acting coach. The first one gave me an opportunity to have my work critiqued by an experienced writer and the second gave me the tools I needed to eliminate selfcensorship. Have fun!

cwfgal
04-07-2010, 08:38 PM
It depends alot on the quality of the course, the people who attend and the level of feedback etc.

Some courses are better than others.