PDA

View Full Version : Publishing vs. Recording Industry

Elwyn
08-19-2005, 07:27 PM
Quite a few years ago, there were only a few recording companies and they dictated what people heard as far as music. Same with the broadcasting business before cable; you only had a few channels to choose from and were stuck with what they decided you’d watch. Ditto for the news industry.

It seems that the publishing industry may have the same type of stranglehold on book readers. The only choice you have (as far as books to read) is what they decide to publish.

Could it be that “good” PODs may open the door for new authors? Are we seeing the beginning of something new here? I think the Internet is (still) changing everything. It would seem that a smart POD would have a killer Web site and promote it heavily. I am brand new at this publishing "problem" so your learned opinions are most welcome.

DaveKuzminski
08-19-2005, 08:08 PM
No, they don't have a stranglehold on the public. In actuallity, they're responding to what the public wants. If tomorrow the public demanded stories with a specific content unlike what currently sells, the publishers would respond. However, public tastes are generally fixed on what they want, so if you want to sell very well, then you have to write very well on the content that the public wants.

Furthermore, you have to use the current system because the only practical way at present for people to find what you have to offer is for them to find it on the shelves of stores. Most people are not going to cruise the Internet to find your book among the millions that are available either new or used. Only a few shop in that manner. Most people want someone to sort through all of what's available to present to them only the classics and the newest works by known authors and those deemed good enough to stand beside them.