REALLY????? An office worker's rant

Alpha Echo

I should be writing.
Registered
Reaction score
In my office, I am basically the bottom rung. I'm 29 years old, I've been here (FAA) for 3 years, and I'm stretched way past my position description.

But I'm stuck in this pay grade. There aren't any jobs in the next pay grade, but I can't get to the one beyond that until I spend a year in the next one since I do not have a degree.

I've been trying to get my bosses to bump me into the next pay grade. I have the work to prove I'm worth it, they act like they love me. But I am not forceful enough. I'm not good at that.

I have a co-worker who is in the pay grade I want to be in. She does budget stuff, and she's good at what she does. We are also friends and both work in the front office. For the past few months, however, she's been making me feel...very low. Like I'm her assistant.

For example, we both are supposed to answer the phones, but I always do. If I don't grab the phone by the second ring, she asks, "Are you going to get that?" Or she'll ask me to cover the phones for her, and I think I always answer the phones anyway, so WTF? That's a simple example. The others are too indepth to explain.

I don't think she does it on purpose. She's a very sweet girl whose heart broke with mine during my divorce. She also has a very low self-esteem which she tries to raise with a lot of makeup, visits to the salon, manis/pedis, tanning booths, and highlights (very opposite me who barely wears makeup and prefers flipflops over heels (though I love my heels)). I've been told my quite a few people, though, that I could do both our jobs w/no problem. I've been told that they prefer coming to me with things, working with me on things, b/c when my co-worker gets stressed (which happens very easily), she gets nasty and doesn't even realize it.