PDA

View Full Version : Wordle tool.

Southern Girl
04-01-2010, 08:09 AM
Ok, first off - this isn't a gripe, though I'm a little peeved about what occurred tonight. It's an honest question and comment on my experience using Wordle.

Anyone familiar with this tool? Sorry I don't have a link - it's an online tool that allows you to paste in a body of text and it generates a word cloud. The larger words are the ones your text uses most, and on down the size/usage scale until you have teeny words.

So, it was recommended on an author's blog I've frequented for a few weeks now. I don't write YA, but I seem to gravitate towards the YA crowd for some reason (I'm new to this networking thing). The website author writes YA. The author recommended Wordle for other writer's works.

I tried it. I found it to be cute, colorful, gimmicky, and - sorry - a complete waste of my time. My biggest words were all significant ones in my 110K draft - they needed to be there. The others were passive verbs/pronouns that I already knew had to be taken care of. Realizing that this might be better served with a final draft, I chalked it up to "meh".

Maybe it's me, but with a larger work - aren't there going to be some words that are repeated time and time again? What is the point of this tool? To use the thesaurus? Every bit of writing advice I've ever gotten has said to use the word that comes to mind, and if it's not the right word, to keep thinking. - Not that I have anything against thesauruses.

I'm just not sure I get the point of Wordle.

Is Wordle this hugely important all-inspiring tool that writers should all take advantage of?

Wordle, anyone?

Toothpaste
04-01-2010, 08:21 AM
I've used Wordle. But only as an art project.

Really? Someone out there uses it to help them with their writing? I suppose it can show you what words you use a lot, maybe open your eyes to some repetitiveness. But I thought it just existed to make pretty word pictures.