PDA

View Full Version : What does an Agent's "second read" mean, if anything?

BeautifulFiction
03-30-2010, 07:28 PM
B xxx

BeautifulFiction
03-30-2010, 11:38 PM
Hello everyone,

Firstly, I apologise if this is the wrong place for this. I was uncertain about where it would fit in best.

I find myself in an unexpected situation. Having finished my young adult novel, I posted the first few chapters on a well-known website and was approached by a literary agent asking for the entire manuscript.

After checking their legitimacy, (they seem to be well-established and genuine) I obliged, and expected to hear nothing for an age.

To my surprise, yesterday I received an email saying my manuscript was being given a second read, and did I have a synopsis.

I'm completely new to the industry, and I haven't found out if there's any significance to the "second read" business - beyond the "we're still thinking about it" stage.

Any ideas? Is there some inner process such as "Reader A looks at everything and picks out the good ones, and then passes the best on to Reader B for further filtering?" Or am I barking up completely the wrong tree?

Thank you in advance, everyone!

Cyia
03-30-2010, 11:42 PM
What's the agency, and have you checked them out here in Bewares & Background Checks and/or on P&E? Plenty of scammers can appear legit at first or second glance.

Do they have clients you've heard of who have published books you've heard of? If yes, then CONGRATS! A second read could mean they're passing it along to a senior agent (if they're a junior one) or that the agency works on committee, where everything has to be run past everyone.

BeautifulFiction
03-30-2010, 11:47 PM
Hi Cyia,

They're the Barbara Levy Literary Agency - Established for 24 years and although it's hard to find, I did work out a couple of published authors who they represent and that I know of. They're on P&E with a $A, so they're legit and have made sales.