PDA

View Full Version : Agent has asked what I do for a living

bluehippo
03-29-2010, 04:56 PM
An agent who has a partial of mine has asked for some more information about me - specifically what I do for a living and my writing background. The only problem is that Iím currently unemployed and I have no publishing credits. I really donít know what to say to them. Iíve been sat here for over an hour trying to come up with something. Does anyone has any advice about the best way to explain my situation? I would really appreciate it.

BrooklynLee
03-29-2010, 05:00 PM
Well, I would say you are between jobs, and mention some things about your career overall -- what types of work you've done in the past. If you don't have any publishing credits, well, you don't have any, and you can't change that. Maybe say something like "I've been working on my writing for XXX years," or "I've been interested in writing since I was in high school" or something else that talks about your writing as a beloved hobby, even if you haven't been published before?

Jamie Stone
03-29-2010, 05:21 PM
You could just say you've been working on your manuscript for several years--technically you are a professional writer, if you sit down and write on a daily basis in order to produce a sellable manuscript, no?

Don't know if you've got a family or anything, but if you do you could play that up--being Mr. Mom, etc.

Jamesaritchie
03-29-2010, 05:26 PM
You could just say you've been working on your manuscript for several years--technically you are a professional writer, if you sit down and write on a daily basis in order to produce a sellable manuscript, no?

No. "Professional" means you're already getting paid for doing it.

shaldna
03-29-2010, 05:26 PM
'I'm currently taking a career break due to family commitments'

shaldna
03-29-2010, 05:27 PM