Oh, help!

cspradbery

Best before 1998
Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone, a newbie here. :hi:

I'm in a bit of a panic. At the beginning of March I sent out fifteen queries. I have had two form rejections (the first one stung a lot more than the second!), then about two weeks ago I had a request for a full manuscript. I sent it out, and last Sunday received an email with the (glowing) review from the agent's reader attached and asking what time to call. He phoned me on Monday and made me an offer for representation. The contracts were emailed that afternoon, but something told me to wait before I signed. The next day (Tuesday) I had another request for a full. I emailed it to the agent and followed up with a telephone call to inform her about my offer. She was lovely, and it confirmed to me that I had held off on the other agent because something just didn't click. Agent number one called me on Weds to see how my decision process was going, and I asked for some more time. On Friday he called again, and basically said he needed a decision, so I rejected his offer.

Now I am FREAKING OUT!!!

I have no offer yet from agent number two, she only received my manuscript last Tuesday. If she comes back to me with a rejection, I'll be left with nothing. Should I tell her I have rejected agent number one? I'm worried if she runs out of time or is teetering on her decision, she'll just reject me because I already have someone else interested.

Also, how long should it take? She said no more than two weeks, but given that the other agent had made an offer, she would try to turn it around quickly.

I can't believe that less than a week ago I felt like I had the world at my feet, now I'm terrified I'll have nothing!

Oh dear, that was quite a ramble, wasn't it. Sorry!

Any advice or virtual valium would be very much appreciated...

Carla

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score