Converting Urban Fantasy to Fantasy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Forestqueen808

What can I say? I'm a writer
Registered
Reaction score
I'm living in a shack with my characters.....
I once had a thumbdrive, and then my brother borrowed it and lost it, and on that thumbdrive, there lived my urban fantasy story.....so its gone now. I have six chapters out of 23, but now I am thinking of rewriting it over again, even though that was what I was in the middle of doing. But lately, I've been wondering if I should change it from Urban Fantasy to just plain Fantasy. When it was just a short story (I was 8) it was pure fantasy, when I was 13 and it was a novel it was urban fantasy. But there are some flaws with urban fantasy, well with mine. Like, okay they had a big battle...how do the humans not know about it and blah blah blah...what should I do? Urban fantasy or fantasy?

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
The big question is: where is it SET? Is it modern in the here-and-now or in a distant time/place? Fantasy is reliant on worldbuilding. Urban fantasy can cross the boundary between contemporary "things we already know" with tweaks to real world. It still requires worldbuilding, but not as much. True fantasy has to develop all separately from current world. Which do you have?

Forestqueen808

Registered
Reaction score
In the original it is in a normal world, though there is a lot of fantasy creatures in like the forest and stuff....but I can't decide, Lord of the Rings is making me really want to do pure fantasy, but I suck at world creating. :p

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com