PDA

View Full Version : Ebooks and Universities?

gothicangel
03-12-2010, 01:46 AM
An interesting development occurred to me at University this week.

I'm studying a course on the tragedy genre and we were required to download an e-book of an out of print Renaissance drama. I never thought of this, Universities will no longer be at the mercy of publishers and request students download instead of having to omit important texts.

Is this how ebooks will be normalised?

I'm currently suffering a similar problem with my African Literature course. I had to order a book from the US five weeks ago and it still hasn't arrived. To complicate things I have a presentation to give on the text. I would have much prefered to have paid the 20 to download the text five weeks ago.

veinglory
03-12-2010, 03:24 AM
Well, for works that are out of copyright downloads are always an option. But otherwise you are still going to depend on (e)publishers to make the work available.

Medievalist
03-12-2010, 03:58 AM
I started producing, and licensing, my own ebooks for texts in 1998. It does "cost" my labor, but it's a better deal for those students who favor ebooks.

Licensing was either free or shockingly cheap for those works that needed a license.

I also ordered a print version or produced a .pdf for students who wanted hardcopy.

When a paperback on acid paper of a Jane Austen novel is anywhere from 8 to 10 dollars, and anthologies are 40.00 to 120.00, it gets pricey for students.

spike
03-14-2010, 08:14 PM
Please, Please, Please let all college texts go to the eformat!

Mom of a college student

jennontheisland
03-14-2010, 08:18 PM
A reasonable prospect for some courses, but I like to make margin notes and scribble formulas by problems.

Any ereader I'd use would have to have a pen-style tool for annotations, because a simple keyboard is not sufficient for writing formulas for thermodynamics equations.

Medievalist
03-14-2010, 08:20 PM