Criminal Profiling and FBI Procedure

artemis31386

All around miscreant
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ashleymchristman.com
Okay so I have a two part question:
1) How does a criminal profiler work to figure out the profile of a suspect, especially in what looks like a multi-state homicide spree.
2) I know that when there is a serial killer or multi-state killings going on the FBI gets involved. What is the procedure for federal agents investigating these types of crimes--is it the same as local pd? When working with local pd to solve these types of crime, who gets jurisdiction or commanding authority. Does fed outrank local?

Any help is appreciated.

sciri

Maxine Fan
Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert, just an avid reader of mysteries. I'm sure other people with more specific expertise will pitch in, but here's a start: there's a national database called VICAP where usually detectives start from to check if certain aspects of the murder scene have been documented before. That's how they start piecing things together towards their unsub.
Once they have that, they consult a psychiatrist for the profiling.

The FBI website has lots of info, have you checked that out? In particular: http://www.fbi.gov/hq/isd/cirg/ncavc.htm
Wikipedia has some info, although pretty generic, but again, a start.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FBI_method_of_profiling

If you already have checked these out, then probably you were looking for a more specific answer, in which case I'm going to step out and leave to others more knowledgeable than me. :)

Don Allen

Seeking a Sanctuary of Intelligence
Registered
Reaction score
They're is so much that go's into setting up a profile from evidence to type of victim, to time of day, to type of murder that you would be killing yourself trying to describe each facet, perhaps you can narrow the focus and concentrate on some specifics as Sciri mentioned.

ajkjd01

I just have to be faster.
Registered
Reaction score
Website