PDA

View Full Version : Need reassurance, pretty please?

Mystic Blossom
03-02-2010, 05:38 AM
So, this is about graduate school. I foolishly decided to apply for an MFA in creative writing, right out of undergrad (I just graduated in December). I really, really want to go to grad school, but I've slowly come to realize that not getting in is not a terrible or even bad thing, nor does it mean that I'm a bad writer or that I won't find success.

I'm going to know sometime this month whether I got into the majority of schools that I signed up for. Most of them are ridiculously competitive programs, but I have no idea what I'm up against. If I don't get in, it will suck, completely, but I have a feeling I'll be okay. It's the waiting that's slowly destroying me. I'm pretty sure all the stress has actually raised my blood pressure.

So I need words from fellow writers. I've turned to other grad school applicants (in various fields) for help, but they're just as stressed and competitive and don't tend to be an incredibly supportive crowd. I don't need false promises, I just need words, true words, that will help get me through the night. Because no matter what the results are, I still have a life to live, and I'm so crazy because of all of this I feel like I'll break down during work.

Please help! I would be so, so grateful. ;_;

kellion92
03-02-2010, 06:53 AM
Well, one thing to remember is that if you don't get in, you can still be a writer. Whereas if your friends gets dinged from every law school or med school, they can forget about being lawyers or doctors.

Waiting is miserable and unavoidable. The best advice is the same that writers give each other when waiting to hear from agents or editors: Write something. Try to write what you would want to write if you got into that MFA program of dreams. And then you'll be in a great position whether you get in or not.

PoppysInARow
03-02-2010, 07:13 AM