PDA

View Full Version : How many novels does it take to give up your day job?

kal-el
02-08-2010, 06:31 AM
Hello

I have a gargantuan desire to spend the rest of my life just writing. There's nothing else I want to do.

My question is: if I prove myself worthy and become a published author, how many novels would I probably need to publish until I have a steady income? Just enough money to live off so I can give up my day job that pays around 30,000 per year and makes me unhappy?

Money doesn't mean anything to me, and if I was writing for a living, I would be content with an income of around 20,000 per year (obviously I wouldn't say no to much more), which would pay my bills and put food in my belly, allowing me to just do what I really want to do with my life.

Would a modest income like this be very possible for an aspiring novelist with a bit of talent? Does the average novelist usually need to publish several times before they can give up their day job?

Many thanks.

ChaosTitan
02-08-2010, 06:39 AM
Unfortunately, there is no good answer to this. There are authors who have published books in the double-digits who still have to maintain a day job.

You could sell your first book for a million dollar advance and start writing full-time; you could also sell your first book for $10,000 and never see another dime because it doesn't earn out. It's a numbers game with no clear answer.

kal-el
02-08-2010, 06:47 AM
Sure. I fully appreciate that. But generally, can most authors give up their day jobs after they publish a certain amount of novels? Say ... about 5 for example?

Isn't there any kind of statistics that show roughly how many times you usually have to publish in order to become a full-time writer? I mean (and excuse my ignorance here), surely most people who publish ten novels or more are able to write full-time? No?

Annayna
02-08-2010, 06:48 AM
I second what Chaos has said

Libbie
02-08-2010, 07:51 AM