Annoying/pricey car repairs?

AnnieColleen

Invisible Writer
Registered
Reaction score
This would be for a blog post on savings. Something to the effect of, "You're just about to hit a savings goal, and then the car needs ______."

I'm drawing a blank on what would be short and punchy enough, and would fit the situation. Thoughts?

ricketybridge

Registered
Reaction score
Sorry, I'm not a car expert, but have you ever listened to Car Talk? They always have tons of callers with hilarious random problems with their car. You might be able to find something good there. :)

Kitty Pryde

i luv you giant bear statue
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
catalytic converter: $1000 on my 2003 Subaru. Mine needs to be replaced right now :( Transmission costs even more, I shudder to think about it.

dirtsider

Not so new, really
Registered
Reaction score
Software upgrade on power locks. Just had that one done.

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
A new exhaust system

New tires

A new transmission

New air bags (after you hit the No Parking sign at the neighborhood Sav-A-Lot)

archerjoe

Registered
Reaction score
Replacing front struts - typically $700 or more. Not easy for the home mechanic to do.

benbradley

It's a doggy dog world
Registered
Reaction score
In early 1990's a clutch for my 1983 manual-transmission Accord was about $500. The engine, transmission, etc. are all in one piece under the hood, so almost all of the cost is the labor to take it all apart and put it back together. I wouldn't be surprised if it's twice that now. With as much mileage I put on my latest Accord (it was really bad in November with daily NaNoWriMo write-ins) I may find out soon enough.

New key for a 2003 (manual transmission, they still make 'em!) Accord, because they have to "program" it with the right code for the car: $150, but I've heard for other model cars it's as high as $400.