Word Count Woes

Status
Not open for further replies.

LiMeiLing

Registered
Reaction score
I've read it all. I've been told time and time again that first time writers need to be under 100k. It is only the rare exception, more rare than winning the lottery, that get published if they dare go over.

So what's the damage? I have a 230K adult fantasy. The story arc does not work as separate books. And I could probably pare it down some but no way I'll be able to knock off 130,000 words without making it into something else entirely. I know that's not always a bad thing but hear me out before you decide if I'm just a naive writer without the skill to write something shorter (I know this post isn't a good example, but I CAN be consice).

So I'm in the dejection side of this forum without the rejection. I'm just preparing to send out a query (where I have NOT included word count on the advice of one of our friendly visiting agents).