E-Book Covers: opinions please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

quickreaver

Neo-beatnik, drab but hip
Registered
Reaction score
Hullo, writers! I lurk periodically here on AbsoluteWrite because I hope, someday, to actually write. But for now what I do is make purdy pictures. I'm an illustrator/freelance artist. I work for a handful of e-publishers creating covers, and as of late, I've come to question all the hard work I put in.

As writers/readers, how much impact does the cover have on you folks? I've become really frustrated with publishers not wanting to invest in good cover design (at least with e-presses.) They work with the artists who low-ball their rates, and most of the time it LOOKS like it. The covers are not great. I fear the quality of the cover just doesn't matter! Will a merely adequate design suffice? Do polished, professional covers make readers more likely to buy? I could really use some advice here. Thanks in advance!

~Cris
http://christinegriffin.artworkfolio.com/

KMTolan

No drama
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.kmtolan.com
You've heard the old saying - "Don't judge a book by its cover." The reason this saying exists is because people do.

The very first impression is the cover art. Next, comes the title. After that, the blurb.

In my experience, a well-done cover can make the difference in sales. I'm sure some folks don't want to hear this, but I'm living it now with a second novel in a series that appears to be generating far more interest than the first novel - all because the second artist did an incredible job. Oh, the first novel's cover wasn't bad, but it didn't grab as much.

While a good cover alone won't sell - you still have to write well (grin), a bad cover can make the book scream "Noob!" and drive readers away.