PDA

View Full Version : Am I ready to send out more queries?

Zodiark
01-14-2010, 08:52 PM
Hi there =D I've been following this community for about a year now and have finally decided to join - realizing I probably need to join. I have been sending queries out since August 2008, but I have received rejection after rejection (I know many of you can relate). I haven't sent many out in the last few months due to being busy with school, but last spring semester I had let my college English professor look over my manuscript, and she read a little bit and said it was "brilliant." She had let a friend of hers who was another English professor read some of it and she said it was "definitely publishable." I have now come to the conclusion that possibly my lack of credentials is hindering any progress for me. I have read to join writing groups and such or join a school paper, but my school paper only publishes twice a year and the articles are only annoucements for school activities =/ I am planning to transfer from my community college to a 4 year university for Fall 2010, but I was wondering: should I hold off the queries and wait for the fall to seek guidance from English professors in the university? Is there anything else I can do in the meantime so I can build up my credentials? (the only credential I have in writing is winning a writing contest my senior year of high school at a festival for my area, but I doubt that will impress any agents lol). Thank you so much to anyone who has advice!

Parametric
01-14-2010, 08:57 PM
Hi Zodiark! Lack of writing credentials should not be a deal-breaker. Quick diagnostic to figure out why you might be getting rejected:

1. Does your novel fit wordcount parameters for your genre (http://theswivet.blogspot.com/2008/03/on-word-counts-and-novel-length.html) and adhere to genre conventions, eg. a romance should have a happily ever after?
2. How many times did you revise your novel?