Support groups?

Idkwiaowiw

I'm late for life! Shoot.
Registered
Reaction score
Hi.
As research for my book, I'm trying to find as much information as I can about support groups. Has anyone actually been inside of one (for longer than one session)? I'm curious as to what goes on, particularly a self-funded support group. I know the basis starts with sharing stories, but what happens after that? Is it just the day-to-day life? For example, if you're in a support group for OCD, would members just talk about relapses/urges they've had since the last meeting? Any help is appreciated!

AyJay

Luv's Conscript
Registered
Reaction score
Website
andrewjpeterswrites.com
It depends on what kind of support group you're writing about. I'm a social worker so I have some experience running different kinds of groups.

Some groups are very structured, as in the AA model, which has a long list of derivatives (i.e. any self-help group that ends with 'Anonymous' - Narcotics Anonymous, Overeaters Anonymous, Gamblers Anonymous, etc.). These groups are led by members who are further along in the process of recovery and typically involve reciting the group's creed like the Serenity Prayer, one or more members sharing their personal story of addiction and then others invited to speak if they'd like to.

Professionally-facilitated groups will involve more interaction between members since a facilitator will encourage everyone to participate and direct them to respond to one another.

For the OCD group that you mention, members talking about relapses and urges would certainly make sense. Another thing to consider is whether you're describing an open or closed group. Open groups may have different members each week so everyone has to get to know each other thus each group is kind of like the first time. In a closed group, a smaller number of people may have been meeting for weeks or months so the content of their discussion will have more depth and continuity.

Hope that helps.

Vanatru