Have I been scammed or are these people legitimately scatterbrained?

Heather.R.

Registered
Reaction score
Okie dokie. I am becoming increasingly concerned about one client in particular who throws me a lot of work.

I am going to lay out why I think I've been scammed, and why I think they might be scatterbrained... and, a question: if they are only scatterbrained and I don't burn this bridge, how can I let them know this is unacceptable nicely?

I am very new to all of this. I have been freelancing since Nov. 1, and have made enough to live on. It rocks, but I'm not rich. I barely get by and 300$ is a LOT of money that would have been awesome to have for the holidays, when I was owed it.

They posted an ad looking for writers on Craigslist (all of my work comes from CL or kijiji, zero problems so far).

Reasons I think they might be scatterbrained:

1. They asked for a sample first, and I was paid for this sample.

2. I have been paid for some work, a total of $130.00 in a one-time payment.

3. I was offered the option of picking up a cheque at their home office. (I declined this and took the e-mail money transfer option instead...they live kind of far. Not TOO far, but far.)

4. Their phone number is in their e-mail signature (cell phone) and a Canada411.com lookup finds 4 people in the city with that name and their phone number...so they could be who they say they are.

5. They seem to adore me, love what I'm doing for them and are very happy with my work. When I asked when I was getting paid the first time I said I don't want to pushy and they replied with "oh no, we want our writers to be happy blah blah".

6. While they had been posting ads for their services all through Oct. and Nov, since they've "disappeared" none have been posted.

Reasons I think I have been scammed: