PDA

View Full Version : As 2009 winds down...

thethinker42
12-31-2009, 07:40 AM
With less than 12 hours to go until 2010 (in this time zone, anyway), can I just take this opportunity to post something genuine, if incredibly wanky?

As far as writing goes, 2009 was a big year for me, and I want to say thank you to AW as a whole. I joined this place about 3 years ago, and in that time, it's completely turned my writing around. I have learned so, so much about the craft, the publishing business, self-discipline, and probably more than I ever wanted to know about...well...a lot of things. Even made quite a few friends along the way, and for someone as socially inept as I am, that counts for a lot.

As wanky and trite as it may sound, I mean every word when I say that, as a writer, I would be nothing without Absolute Write. I'd probably still be telling-not-showing my way around in a genre that didn't "click", writing euphemism-laden sex scenes that did nothing to advance my sad excuses for plots. My characters would be made of cardboard, my story lines made of DEM and coincidence, and my novels made of fail. I certainly wouldn't have my invaluable unholy alliance writing partnership with scarletpeaches, who I met on this very forum.

A few months ago, I said that if one of my books ever hits the NYT Bestseller list, I will get a tattoo of the AW logo. I stand by that, because while my chances of making it onto that list are slim, those odds would be pretty much nil without AW.

For those who are new to AW and are still getting into the groove here, stick around. It can be overwhelming and many of us are brutally opinionated, but there is much wisdom to be found in these forums.

Okay, enough of that wankiness. I just wanted to say thanks, and I mean it from the bottom of my shriveled, black heart.

*cough* Anyway. As you were.

Seaclusion
12-31-2009, 07:48 AM
Happy New Year

Richard

dolores haze
12-31-2009, 07:51 AM