Why aren't there many actors that also write?

Idkwiaowiw

I'm late for life! Shoot.
Registered
Reaction score
Is the reason there are limited amount of actors that write because you have to possess a different mind frame to be each of the professions? Is acting more of a social thing, something done to get attention, while writing is more observing, placing others in the spotlight instead of yourself. I find this interesting because I've always seen actors and writers as collaboraters, both trying to intimidate life. Am I just totally wrong?

ChaosTitan

Around
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kellymeding.com
Personally, I think writing is a completely different skill than acting. I'm a good writer, but I'm not a very good actor. I like words; I hate being in front of a crowd.

There are some actors who are pretty good screenwriters (Matt Damon & Ben Affleck, for example with Good Will Hunting), but for the most part Actors Act and Screenwriters Write.

Wavy_Blue

Adventure is out there!
Registered
Reaction score
William Shatner wrote a lot of Star Trek books. I haven't read any of them so I couldn't tell you if they're any good, but hypothetically I think it would make sense for an actor, such as the Shat, to write books based off a franchise he stars in. Obviously, he'd understand it pretty well.

But straight-up fiction from actors? I can't think of any instances right now.

Deleted member 42

William Shatner wrote a lot of Star Trek books. I haven't read any of them so I couldn't tell you if they're any good, but hypothetically I think it would make sense for an actor, such as the Shat, to write books based off a franchise he stars in. .

Well, no, actually, he didn't. He makes no bones about the Trek novels, or his Tek War novels being written by a professional and well-known SF writer.

I'm not going to out the ghost writer since I don't know how generally known it is.