Status
Not open for further replies.

seun

Horror Man
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.lukewalkerwriter.com
It's time to look at your work and time for some brutal honesty. Why can't you get published? Why can't you find an agent? Is it because of your synopsis or query? Or is your book not as good as you thought?

I've been thinking about this for a while and for myself, I can't narrow it down. I think I'm a decent writer; I've had stories and poems accepted. I think I could sell my books if I was published, but I'm still not really getting anywhere. Maybe I am just not as good as I thought.

Over to you.

CaroGirl

Living the dream
Registered
Reaction score
I also think I'm a decent writer. But I think I'm not quite good enough. How to bridge the gap between my skills and publisher demand eludes me.

James81

Great Scott Member
Registered
Reaction score
Two things:

I'm not consistent enough and I don't pursue it enough.

I get distracted pretty easily. The moment I take the time to really focus and dedicate myself to getting published is the moment it will happen for me.

Parametric

Registered
Reaction score
Poor plotting. Repetition. Inability to world-build. Patchy characterisation. Major pacing problems. General incoherency.

icerose

Lost in School Work
Registered
Reaction score
I'm good but I'm not great has been my problem so far. My recent string of rejections have been "Although we loved reading it and read it several times, it doesn't stand out among the books already on the shelves enough. Regrettably, we're going to have to pass."

My solution has been to write a stronger book and I think I just finished one that fits the bill. We'll see, first it has to pass betas, and then it'll be going through the agent test.

Phaeal

Whatever I did, I didn't do it.
Registered
Reaction score
My query and MS haven't hit the right desk at the right time yet.

DamaNegra

Mexican on the loose!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.fictionpress.com