Coma and lawsuit question

KarlaErikaCal

YA romance writer in love with love
Registered
Reaction score
Here is the context:

Chase starts a fight with Kyle, and Kyle falls back onto a metal rod sticking up (one of the seats in those lunch tables that high schools have did not have a top). Kyle goes into a coma.

First question: Can a diagnosis of a coma happen immediately? Like, I'm going to have Chase sit in the dean's office and then maybe some time passes and the nurse could call and inform the dean that Kyle is now stated to be in a coma.

Second question: Is it expected for Kyle's parents to sue or can they choose not to?

Any information will be greatly appreciated!

JulieHowe

Spent the night with Jack Daniels
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a lawyer, but here goes. The police are going to be involved, and Chase will probably be handcuffed and taken down to the nearest police station. If Kyle goes into a coma, Chase will most likely hear it from the police officers who are interviewing him, not the school nurse.

It should take a while, at least a few hours, for Chase to hear the news that he beat his classmate into a coma.

If Kyle's parents sue, it will be the school district, the manufacturer of the unsafe table that caused the injury, and Kyle and his parents. There's nothing obligating them to sue anyone, but even if they don't sue, their health insurance company might, to recover the money that was paid for Kyle's care.

Last edited:

KarlaErikaCal

Registered
Reaction score
Oh... I didn't think about the handcuffing... Ok thanks! That helps! I'll have to rewrite a bit and think about the suing some more.

jclarkdawe

Feeling lucky, Query?
Registered
Reaction score
Here is the context: