Newbie question about agents (from B&BC)

writingfan

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a newbie here and not sure if this is the right area in the forum - I have 3 questions that I've been thinking about:

a friend of mine who is not in the writing world said she would be nervous if I send a full MS to an agent. Hinting, as if, what if they steal your MS? It was unsettling that she suggested that, but I assume you guys aren't too worried about people "stealing" ideas etc? I sent a full MS via email. That's what sparked our conversation.

The agent asked me for an "mss" I assume that meant entire MS. I thought MS was manuscript...

lastly, doing research online i read somewhere about an author writing about getting fired by her agent. How would that ever occur? I assume one would have a contract with an agent and when it comes up, then you both reconsider.
I would assume that is awkward to be let go by one's agent.

any thoughts would be appreciated!

Last edited:

bclement412

Registered
Reaction score
I suggest you check out the agency on Predators and Editors. They'll tell you if an agency/agent is legit or not. Also browse though the Bewares and Backround Check section to hear about other authors stories with an agency.

writingfan

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks! They are legit agents, with big deals, etc.

Also, I forgot to mention that one agent, the last one who requested a partial, asked for an exclusive time to read it, even though when I queried I said I have a full MS out already...

So now I have to stop querying in my tracks, I suppose and let her read my partial.

DeadlyAccurate

Absolutely Fazed
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.carlaharker.com
So now I have to stop querying in my tracks, I suppose and let her read my partial.