Anyone Up For An Interview?

Status
Not open for further replies.

spugh2

Registered
Reaction score
Grad student looking for a few published authors to answer some questions, as per the requirements of the class. If you're up to, then just respond to this thread. Be sure to let me know what you've published and in what genre, and thanks, thanks a ton.
I'm compiling the results for a presentation to other wannabes.

1. What sort of education do you believe best prepares someone for a career as a novelist?
2. What are your work habits like? Are you a ritualistic writer who rises at the same time and works no matter what or do you create as the mood strikes you?
3. Under what conditions do you work? What’s the ideal atmosphere for your creativity?
4. What has been the most challenging aspect of your career thus far?
5. What advice would you give an aspiring writer?

timewaster

present
Registered
Reaction score
1. Any education or none. I have a degree, a teaching qualfication and an MBA but none of them have helped much. You can use whatever experience you have.
2. I write regularly - ie every day when I am working on a novel and not otherwise.
3. When I have a book to write I can write anywhere and in any atmosphere. I have an office at home and I either work there or on my lap top. When I need to work I do.
4. I have always worked part time - taking off whatever time I've wanted to be with my kids etc. It is hard to make enough money to justify it as a full time job.
5. Write because you enjoy it and for no other reason. If you are anxious for fame, fortune or even a living wage it is probably not for you.

I'm UK based and have published eight YA novels and eight books for younger children. I mainly write fantasy/SF.

Mumut

Well begun is half done...
Registered
Reaction score