Querying Publishers/Do I still need an agent?

Preacher'sWife

Crack that WIP!
Registered
Reaction score
in my own little corner, in my own little chair
Newbie here. I've been querying agents, and have just begun querying publishers. If a reputable publisher that accepts non-agented submissions (ie: Medallion or Sourcebooks) offers a contract, would it be wise to seek representation by an agent prior to signing the contract so they can negotiate for you?

"Ignorance is not bliss in the world of writing."--me

Smish

Reads more than she writes.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
It's generally a bad idea to query publishers and agents at the same time. If you sumbit your novel to a publisher and receive a rejection, that's it. The agent can't resubmit it.

You can sometimes get an agent once the deal is in hand; it's sometimes easier to get an agent at that point. However, the editor may not appreciate it, and if the agent tries to change the deal significantly, the publisher may back out.

So, it's best to just query agents. Let them submit to publishers. If you are unable to find an agent, then you can query publishers yourself.

Good luck!

Donna Pudick

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
I don't see why you would need an agent if you sold the book on your own. If you have serious questions about the offer, don't take it. Simple as that. You can certainly try to get a bigger advance or higher royalties. Publishers expect to negotiate, and they usually are somewhat flexible.

Also, there are dozens of books on publishing you can get and read from cover to cover. These books always have sample contracts with advice on how to handle them. Worth the expense for sure.

Dawnny Baby

Getting back up again
Registered
Reaction score