PDA

View Full Version : Fleshing out characters - musical taste

jeseymour
10-31-2009, 05:50 PM
This is sort of a poll, to help me flesh out the characters in my crime novel. I'm curious as to what kind of music people listen to and how (or if) that relates to their age. For example, I'm about to turn 47 and I listen mostly to stuff that was popular when I was in high school or just after I graduated high school. Billy Joel, Bruce Springsteen, Jackson Browne, etc. I'm trying to figure out if everybody is the same way. I had my main character listening mostly to the Beatles (he turned 18 in 1970) but I don't know if that is realistic or not. I went through my Beatles period and still like them, but I'm wondering if there is anything else, maybe less pop music type of stuff, that he might like. Maybe something more rock and roller. A secondary character is older than he is, she turned 18 in 1967, and I originally had her listening to Elvis, but I think that might be too old for her, maybe she should listen to the Beatles? This sounds so lame, like my characters only listen to what was on the top 40 or something. Anybody want to share how old they are (or roughly, if you don't want to share your exact age,) what you listen to and why?

Rowan
10-31-2009, 06:21 PM
I turned the big 4-0 earlier this year and I'd have to say my musical taste has evolved with my age... I currently listen to everything from Classical to New Age to Alternative. Currently my faves are: Digital Summer, Burn Season, Souls Harbor, One Less Reason, Mute Math, Shiny Toy Guns, Jon Asher, Paramore, Godsmack, Ego Likeness, etc. I prefer more obscure music - ie., not top-40 which you hear over and over again on the radio. I listen to Classical at work... I think I know which main character you're speaking of (female) and from little I know about her - she strikes me as quirky, bold and not one to follow trends (just based on her career path ;) ).