PDA

View Full Version : Need A Beta Reader for YA Contemporary/Romance Novel

Sweet16
10-31-2009, 01:56 PM
Please would you kindly read my manuscript. It is just the first chapter and I would really love some feedback. I am new at this writing thing, so I am sure I could use alot of help. Thank you and please also state whether or not you would read this book, your score out of ten and what I could do to improve the story.

" RICHES TO RAGS( well kinda)"

Chapter One

‘Oh My Gosh! This is gonna be the party of the year Tiff” I squealed while I was sitting on my pink heart pillow and ‘I love You’ teddy bears sprawled all over my big pillows which occupied most of the space on my twin size bed. Tiffany and I were in my favourite room in the house, which was my bedroom sipping Diet Cokes and munching on grapes (my mum was kind off a health freak) while listening to The Veronicas New CD.

I was home-alone since mum was at work and Thomas, my younger brother was at his friend’s house probably exchanging those Yugi-Oh cards and playing Nintendo and the only one who was at home is Precious our house keeper. The best hangout in the house to be with your best friend, and why? Because of the interior décor which created a vibe, like you were in a five-star hotel. Okay, maybe the hot pink walls with black imprints did not feel five-star-hotels nor did my twin size bed with teddy bears of all shapes and sizes and colors but it felt like Lisa-is. My whole personality displayed in this room with its black crystal chandelier, cheetah print chairs (seeing as I do live in Africa) and my walk in closet which was like being in another whole new realm. Over-top I guess.

“I mean really. If we do this right my Sweet 16 party is gonna be the most talked about in school” I said to Tiffany as she was sprawled on my cheetah print chair reading a copy seventeen magazine. “Of course Lisa, maybe you should have it on the beach?” “Ha-ha, yeah”.