Advice for newbie managing editor of website

adogil

I have been a freelance copywriter/business writer for about 9 years. I know good writing when I see it, and I'm a great editor. However, I'm not familiar with the standard experience of freelance (feature) writers--which is why I need your help.

I've just been hired as the managing editor of a start-up website company. They've tasked me with filling one of their many websites with very high quality content. They'd like me to recruit writers who are experts in a specific field. Of course, they are glad to give these writers a byline because this will add legitimacy to the site.

Are there any editors in this forum who have performed such a job? Can you tell me how you recruited writers? Were they freelance or staff? Also, we have developed a list of articles topics. Should we create a "template" for these articles? Is there a formula for putting together a site?

Any advice and/or suggestions would be very appreciated.

Thanks.

Deleted member 42

You need to start creating pages for writers and prospective writers, including a style sheet--how should articles be submitted? Length? Formatting? Editorial policies? Who has what rights?

Simran

What kind of a website is it? I originally started writing for a website who advertised right on the home page that they needed writers. When I sent in for more info. I was given several different writing assignments to see if my style fit what they were looking for. It did and I was hired to write for them. That was over two years ago. When their copy-editor quit last November, I was offered the job. I still write for them but now I do the editing from all the writers now too. :)

mkcbunny

Bufflehead
Registered
Reaction score