PDA

View Full Version : How many rejections do you expect for every partial/full request?

wittyusernamehere
10-25-2009, 01:19 AM
Sorry if this is a thread somewhere - I searched but could not find what I was looking for.

My question is: When sending out queries, what percentage of rejections to requests for partials/full should one expect before assuming something is wrong with the query and/or first 5-10 pages? I have read this is a particularly difficult time to be in the slush pile, but when should a writer be tipped off that there is something that needs retooling?

This is my first time through the query spanking machine and any words of wisdom are appreciated.

ETA: Zomg, even this question is getting rejected! Please, a kind word! Beuller?

AngelaA
10-26-2009, 03:05 AM
I remember wondering the same thing...right around the time that I finally got my agent. I'm not sure how to answer this in a way that will put your mind at ease. I suppose if you get no interest...zero requests of any sort then you should maybe be worried. When I queried my first book I got a lot of interest right away...partial and full requests that ended up in rejection. My second book I queried the same agents who requested material in the past...some requested partials and fulls again. And then I got an offer on my first book. It all seemed to happen at around the same time...I was on fire which led to a lot of waiting and then bam...agent offer.

I don't think that there's a perfect method of knowing...a lot of it is persistence, luck, persistence...and timing. Make sure you're querying the right people, the ones who handle your genre. It took me a year of hard querying to get my agent...and in the end it was fluke that I found her and queried when I did.

Red-Green
10-26-2009, 04:01 AM