PDA

View Full Version : Getting into the Creative Developement of games?

LOG
10-21-2009, 10:32 PM
So say I wanted to help on a games lore, according to Chris Metzen, on really story heavy games at least, there are alot of people working besides the Creative devlopment team, and I quote from this article: http://www.wowwiki.com/Metzen_on_Lore
"You not only have me jamming ideas, but a ninja team of quest designers, an army of freelance RPG writers, and a commando squad of red-hot novelists who are all involved in flushing out the lore and making it more than just wallpaper on a game."
I imagine that the quest designers are more full integrated into Blizzard. But how do you imagine, do companies get the freelancers and the novelists? Is it purely Blizzard, or any other developer hunting them down and asking for their assistance, or do the writers go after the developer?

YAY! 600th post!

Freelancer
10-21-2009, 10:44 PM
It's very hard to get into a team like that. I worked as a freelancer writer to two great computer game publisher / developer before and I was hired because of my long resume. If you don't have something in the background, you can forget this. These companies are used to hire known and experienced writers via agents or via friend of a friend (This one is rare.).

Now, quest designers are used to be different then writers. Designers are used to be designers, designing the levels, adding the triggers, etc, etc... and writers used to be writers. Although I did both, but it's very rare when the designer and the writer is the same.

Blizzard has their designer / writer team. They're very rarely using unknown outsiders.

efkelley
10-21-2009, 11:25 PM
You have to keep an eye on their websites, specifically under Careers. Earlier this year, Blizz had a Writer position open, and did Cryptic. Often these do get filled via friend-of-a-friend. As with anything, who you know can be more important than what you know.