The Angle on "Self-Serving" Commentary

Status
Not open for further replies.

Richard L. Sutton

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.kivatrading.com
I'm an Indie Author. OK -- there I've said it. Now if we could hold up on the snickering for a moment, I have a question I'd like to get some answers on.

Why is it that every time someone reports news that might cast a slightly more favorable light on self-publishing, someone with mainstream publlshing industry ties -- or those who seem to want to sidle up to the mainstream industry -- cast aspersions that the report is "self serving"? Why are comments which defend the publishing industry model status quo and decry change, NOT considered self-serving as well?

Aren't we all trying to write and publish? Aren't we all trying to find readers? Why is it that some of us are considered self-serving wing-nuts, while others, using different means to achieve the same goals are considered the lauded voice of sincerity and reason? If the answer is that there are some really crappy novels self-published, I'll reply "there are lots of crappy novels that are mainstream published". If the answer is "the industry's track record", I'll reply "200 years of hit and miss doesn't add up to graven stone tablets from on high."

What are the real "angles" here, and why is the playing field so terribly tilted? Any comments out there?

Phaeal

Whatever I did, I didn't do it.
Registered
Reaction score
What's an "indie" writer? I would have guessed a writer published by an independent or small press, not a self-published writer.

I don't think self-published writers are any more self-serving than other writers. I just don't think that self-publication pays off for anyone who doesn't have a strong sales platform (usually for nonfiction) or who doesn't very, very, very energetically promote his own book.

Whereas someone published by the big guys might only have to very, very energetically promote his own book. ;)

Jamesaritchie

Registered