Gun shot wounds...

ashara76

Registered
Reaction score
I have very little experience with guns, and therefore have a very limited amount of knowledge regarding the various degrees of wounds and amount of time needed for proper healing.

I'm hoping someone can help me with this as my city librarian thinks I am rather odd.

I am currently working on a spy series in which a MC in two books get shot. Both are female. The first sustains a flesh wound to her upper right arm/shoulder. I'm hoping such a wound will bleed like a sieve, hurt like hell, and heal relatively fast. The shot was not intended for her, and therefore only grazed her arm. Distance approximately fifteen-twenty feet. Recommended gun (must be silencer equipped)?

The second is a leg wound, preferably upper thigh, a clean through and through shot. This wound has time to heal, although I would like to push the healing limits on such a wound. The MC has had soldier-training, has a strong distaste for anything feminine, and is stubborn beyond reason. She will do whatever someone tells her she can't do just to prove them wrong. Including/Especially doctors. I need to know how long she will need to use crutches, and the least amount of time she may be bed-ridden.

Thanks in advance for any help you may give.

icerose

Lost in School Work
Registered
Reaction score
If you want a relatively small wound that won't do a lot of damage, you'll want to stick with a small calibre weapon like .9 mm or 22 round.

A shot in the leg is rather dangerous, it has a pretty good sized artery running through it, not to mention the muscle damage you could do.

There's also the bullets to think of. Different tips do different damage. Some bullets mushroom, others fragment, some will break bones, others won't. Or if you're dealing with a shotgun then you have bird shot, buck shot, target and so forth. The further the distance the less damage because it spreads.